Skip to main content Responsive banner image

Welcome to the SVC Library!

One-stop shopping for library basics.

Trouble connecting to our resources? Please use this form to help us troubleshoot. 
(This will send us an email and document the issue. If you need immediate help during the day, look for the "Ask a Librarian" chat box on this page or give us a call.)

Sign up for free New York Times accessUnlimited access to the NYT on any device! 

You must sign up while on campus, after that you can access from anywhere 
You must use your @svc.edu email 
Once signed up, you will have access for 364 days before having to re-register

  1. Set up an account here: www.NYTimes.com/GroupPass 
  2. Log in to www.NYTimes.com, on or off campus, using the credentials you created
  3. Need more instructions? youtu.be/jWtbxBik4IY

Note: This does not apply to the mobile app, but to the Times's web site. (Which you CAN access on a mobile device... confused? Ask a librarian!)

The Big Ones

Full-text and abstracts of thousands of journal articles from a number of databases:

  • Academic Search Premier - Full text for 4,600+ journals, 3,900 of which are scholarly/peer-reviewed.
  • Newspaper Source - Full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. Selected full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic - Nearly 550 scholarly full text nursing journals. Also Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
  • CINAHL - Indexing for 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health.
  • PsycARTICLES - 153,000+ articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA.
  • Business Source Premier - Full text for 2,300+ journals, (1,100+ are peer-reviewed) in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
  • Regional Business News - Full text coverage for 80+ regional business publications covering all metropolitan & rural areas in the U.S.
  • eBook collection - Full text eBooks. Most are downloadable to iPad, Nook, and other mobile devices.
  • ERIC - Education Resource Information Center: education literature and resources. 

Similar to EBSCOhost, but provided by another company, so there are different journals. Ten databases covering the following subject areas:

  • Newspapers - Local, regional & national
  • Nursing & Allied Health - Journal articles, books, videos, dissertations, etc.
  • Health Management - Health administration: journal articles, dissertations
  • Biology - Journal articles & magazines
  • Science - Science and technology: journal articles
  • Computing - Journal articles on database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets & the internet
  • Psychology - Theory and practice: journal articles
  • Social Sciences - Journal articles
  • Education - Abstracts and indexing of 900+ education journals, many in full-text

A large number (too many to list here) of databases on many topics, including:

  • Opposing Viewpoints on hot social issues
  • Alternative health
  • Biographies
  • Virtual Reference Library (encyclopedic information on MANY topics)
  • Business
  • Computers
  • General news
  • Career Transitions
  • Legal publications

VOL is provided through a contract with the Vermont Department of Libraries for ALL types of libraries, so it also includes resources for children, teens, and teachers.

Loading

Other options

But wait, there's more!

  • Try the Newsmaker Profiles section of our World News Digest database.
  • Or read read Conversations with Scientists from our Today's Science database.
  • Looking for books? You can find biographies in the 920-930 Dewey Decimal Classification section in the library catalog. This includes a large collection of the publication Contemporary Black Biography which are in storage - ask a librarian for access. 

Have a citation but need to find the full text article?

Search for full text periodical titles within all SVC databases

Browse Periodicals by Subject
Browse Periodical Titles
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

If you would like to search for titles we don't have in full-text, please ask a librarian for assistance!

Loading
Creative Commons License
Southern Vermont College Library by SVC Library Staff is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.